Posted by: jasgreen | May 8, 2009

Some good news.

O.k., so I haven’t been posting in the past two days. Things have been very busy for me. With the events that have happened over the last two days, I’ve been busy working to get back into a school to continue my education. I have also been very busy trying to make up for the financial lost I’ve experience that almost put my surgery on hold.

Well, the good news is that my mother came to the rescue and she has agreed to help by paying for the hotel room. That’s a lot to expect from her since she doesn’t have a lot of extra cash floating around.

In the meantime, I have been busy trying to get steady income and health insurance to cover the major cost healthcare. Lucky for me, I developed sciatica in March and it has been a very painful journey for me. I force myself to walk  4 miles a day to help rehabilitate myself. My doctor also wants me to take medication and seek physical therapy. But how can I afford this with surgery just 62 day’s away. Aside from this, my surgeon wants me to take Testosterone shots 6 weeks, 4 weeks and 2 week prior to surgery  to increase my RBC to avoid excess blood loss. My surgeon also has a list of prescriptions that he wants me to take. Wow, now my medical cost has just sored through the roof.

So, I went to my local state welfare department and took them all the paper work from both doctors. They took one look at me and said, your covered. I praised Hashem for this because now I don’t have to worry about my medical cost and now all I have to worry about is the cost of the Hotel room which my mother agreed to pay for me. I told her I would make the difference up latter by paying two of her bills.

I no longer have to worry about food while I’m in the hotel trying to recover because my plan is to take enough cash to cover the unexpected costs, which should be low, and enough to eat prior to surgery (I’m arriving a few days ahead of surgery). After surgery, I plan on eating nothing but soups and keeping my fluids up. I’ll only have to stay for 7 days before flying home and going under the post-op care of Dr. Christine McGinn D.O whom I’ve contacted and worked out the details ahead of time. If that doesn’t pan out, I can use 2 other SRS surgeons in my area within a 20-30 minute car drive radius.

Another positive note, today I went out and brought my dress, slip on sandles and some feminine Hygine products I’ll need after surgery. Most of everything else that I need for pre-op care has been purchased already. And, my health insurance started today so now I’m just waiting to fill all these perscriptions that I have when I can afford the co-pay if any ( I don’t expect it to be over $40 dollars).

I almost went overboard with what I needed to purchased but I called my surgeon and spoke with him and he told me in a very fatherly voice, “Only buy what you will need to make it home safely.” He told me not to worry about after care products until I arrive home because these items would be purchased at a later date. I agreed with him that now was not the time to go overboard out of excitement.  So I spent a total of $23 dollars including a mother’s day card and a treat for my two babies (one Lasa and the other a Shih Tzu).

Finally, I’ll be back in school at a new school. I’ve attended this school before so I know it’s reputation. I’m waiting to hear from the admission committe on their decision to allow me to change my major to Accounting. I haven’t been to this school since last year and I’ve completed Intermediate Accounting 1 and 2 which satisfies their prequiest into their graduate program. I know I’ll have no problem with this issue. I just have to wait until July when the next class starts.

Well Shabbat services are starting in an hour and I have to go get ready. Thanks for reading and please keep me in your prayers. I believe in the power of prayer.

Shabbat Shalom

Responses

  1. I’m glad to hear it! It’s about time you caught a break 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

