Posted by: jasgreen | October 3, 2009

Vaginal Health

As a female that was born with PAIS (Partial Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome), I’ve tried to learn as much as possible about vaginal health so that when I finally was able to have my operation there would be no surprises. Yet, speaking with other women who were born with AIS and HBS women, there was little to no information on what I could expect as I heal from such a major operation.

It’s been 3 months (12 weeks) and each day is one step to full recovery. Dilation is much apart of my life as inspecting myself to make sure that I’m healing correctly. I can’t but notice that I have a slight discharge and I wonder if I have a yeast infection. Yet, after reading and speaking with my mom on the subject matter, I’ve concluded that it not a yeast infection at all but rather vaginal discharge of the lubricant I use along with the natural discharge that is common among all females.

Female naturally have about a teaspoon of vaginal discharge everyday which can be clear or thin whitish in color. This fluid becomes thicker as she cycles through month with higher concentration during ovulation and menarche.  Although I do not ovulate and have no menarche, my vagina does produce its own fluid which is discharged each day no different from any other female. The combination of this fluid with the lubricants that I use creates a yellowish tint discharge without any odor or signs that would point to infection.

It is possible that if one is not understanding what’s going on with the body that a false diagnosis could lead one to conclude that this is a yeast infection or some other form of infection. This is why it is so important to learn your body as fast as you can after this kind of operation. Don’t be afraid to touch yourself and smell yourself down there.  Examine yourself each day and take notice of the discharges that happen.

Switching the focus of this topic, sexual intercourse for me is out for now. I’m not healed enough to withstand the implications of intercourse. I tried to time myself with others that I read that mentioned that they began having sexual intercourse 6-8 weeks after surgery. Well, I must be a slow healer because this is not possible for me. I tried using a 6 inch realistic dildo just to see how it would feel and if I was ready and though I was able to accommodate the dildo without much pain, I could tell that I wasn’t completely healed enough that I am ready to start dating and having sex.

Don’t rush yourself. This is a time period that should be about learning and healing. I was scheduled to go for the second stage of my surgery on Thursday of this month but that has been pushed to perhaps January of next year as I still am healing and the surgeon wants to make sure that I’m completely healed. Because of this time set back, I must also allow myself to heal from the second stage surgery. As much as I would love to put a date stamp on when I can go out and have my first vaginal sexual experience, I must listen to my body. So, I  encourage all others who may be going through this kind of surgery to listen to your body and not to what other have or are saying is the best time to go out and try to have sex.

Leave a Reply

Categories

